Day Thirty One

I had a whole list of happy moments from today to write about…but in the last ten minutes, they have become absolutely trivial.

I just got told by a friend (one whom I am not particularly close to, but who I have known for a couple of years now) that he self harms, has a parent who abuses drugs, and siblings who are alcoholic and suicidal.

This guy, and his story are two things that you would never even think to put together. He comes to school, and is always seemingly happy. He has a girlfriend. He manages to make people laugh, and never really has a bad word to say about anyone. He has opinions, doesn’t shy away from conflict, and will speak out when he needs to.

Never in a million years would I have guessed that he self harms, and hates himself.

Hearing him tell me that stuff was a real eye-opener for me. I mean this guy sits next to me in English, and I would never have guessed what he was going through. It just  goes to show that everyone has a story.

It is so easy to think that we know someone based on how they act around the masses. But it is not until you have a conversation with someone that you can really get to know them.

To be quite honest, when this guy told me all of his stuff I had no idea how to react or what to say. I have never gone through any of the stuff that he has. Until him, I have never actually had a conversation with someone who has self harmed. I mean what do you say. Do you shower them in niceties? Do you pity them? But why would I? Should I really be treating him differently just because he typed out a string of sentences? It doesn’t change how I view him.

I still see him as a hilarious, sarcastic, smiley person. Just now, I know that he has another side to him. One that is not so carefree.

 

-E

#100HappyDays

Leave a comment